INEC To Creates Additional Center’s In Lagos

INEC To Creates Additional Center’s In Lagos

Mahmood Yakubu (INEC Chairman)

Effort are being made by the Independent National Electoral Commission in Lagos State to creates additional centre’s in 13 local government areas of the state for the on-going continuous voter’s registration, (CVC).

This was made known during an interview session with News Agency of Nigerian NAN on Saturday in Lagos by Dr. Mustapha Mudashiru, the administrative secretary 0of the commission in Lagos.

In his words “the commission had pushed for more additional centre’s, especially in 13 of 20 council areas in the state to reduce crowding in existing centre’s’’.

He also added that “we requested for additional centre’s, particularly for some peculiar local government in Lagos state to further address some of the challenges facing the CVR exercise in a metropolitan city like Lagos”. “We are still waiting the formal approval by the commission.

He stated that the local councils include; Alimosho, Ajerom-Ifedolun, Ikorodu, Ikeja, Eti-Osa, Kosofe, Mushin, Ifako-Isajaiye, Ojo, Oshodi-Isolo, Somolu, Surulere and Lagos Mainland Local Government Area.

“We are hopeful that the commission will consider this, and as soon as we get approval, we will put those centres up”.

“This will go a long way in reducing crown in the existing centres because this is one of the challenges we are facing now.


Related Post